COP Thread - Page 68 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


DIY Turbo Discussion greddy on a 1.8? homebrew kit?

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2010, 02:33 AM   #1341
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: AU
Posts: 4
Total Cats: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shlammed View Post
Thread revival!

Ordered the plugs from this company today... excited to do it properly without splicing.

Useful thread.... now to sift through the whole thing when i get time...

Matt
good to hear it! make sure you do some pics etc when you have time - i would love to see this all solved as a plug in and easily replaced setup!
89roadster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 01:53 PM   #1342
Elite Member
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 2,791
Total Cats: 71
Default

The plugs came in yesterday (slow due to customs and shipping choice to canada... they shipped next day)

The plugs fit nice and are of a good quality, but they are white.

Im going to try to dye them black and see how that goes.

They fit well and seem to be of a good quality.
shlammed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 02:35 PM   #1343
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 774
Total Cats: -5
Default

Why don't you just wrap/cover the plugs with heat shrink or something?.
poobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 04:23 PM   #1344
AFM Crusader
iTrader: (18)
 
olderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 4,438
Total Cats: 84
Default

Rattlecan after they are in.
olderguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 04:57 PM   #1345
Elite Member
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 2,791
Total Cats: 71
Default

i googled dying plastic and people do this with their paintball gun junk.

get some vinyl dye and the plastic will absorb it.

or paint... but its not that flexible...
shlammed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 06:37 PM   #1346
AFM Crusader
iTrader: (18)
 
olderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 4,438
Total Cats: 84
Default

Depends on what type plastic it is whether it will accept dye. Nylon will.
olderguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 09:09 PM   #1347
Senior Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mass.
Posts: 816
Total Cats: 41
Default

yup ... and I'm doubtful they would mold those plugs w/ nylon given it's properties - probably some run-of-the-mill ABS/ABS blend which can't be dyed to my knowledge.

-Zach
thasac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 07:03 AM   #1348
I'm Miserable!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fort Bragg, NC
Posts: 189
Total Cats: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shlammed View Post
i googled dying plastic and people do this with their paintball gun junk.

get some vinyl dye and the plastic will absorb it.

or paint... but its not that flexible...


My question, is the capacitor for 1.6 cars only or 1.8s as well? I didnt see any specific info on where to put it, just basically to add it to the 12v source and the ground? I am assuming thats 1 inline of each? Will someone elaborate or have a pic for me? As far as the 1.8 cars go, I was slightly confused on which coilpack harness you splice into...is the other left untouched?

Last edited by BoostedTrixx; 11-17-2010 at 07:31 AM.
BoostedTrixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 01:43 PM   #1349
Junior Member
 
Golferluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 497
Total Cats: 3
Default

I didn't put the resistor on mine so I can't be much help there but you tap into both coil pack harnesses. If you need help with it I have a crude diagram I drew that helped me with keeping it all straight. If you like I'll post it up later.
Golferluke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2010, 03:53 PM   #1350
I'm Miserable!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fort Bragg, NC
Posts: 189
Total Cats: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Golferluke View Post
I didn't put the resistor on mine so I can't be much help there but you tap into both coil pack harnesses. If you need help with it I have a crude diagram I drew that helped me with keeping it all straight. If you like I'll post it up later.
can you PM it to me?
BoostedTrixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 05:16 PM   #1351
I'm Miserable!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fort Bragg, NC
Posts: 189
Total Cats: 0
Default

Do you need to run one capacitor or two? What happens if you don't run one at all, just curious?
BoostedTrixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 05:24 PM   #1352
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 774
Total Cats: -5
Default

There is no set number of capacitors but the prescribed capacitance was 10'000 uf.
Depending on the value of the capacitors that you, have you need to connect them in parallel for a total of 10'000uf.
If you have a single 10'000 uf capacitor you only need one. If you only have two 5'000 uf capacitirs then you need two and so on. I used two 4700 caps in mine.

I don't remember why the caps were added but I guess they are filters so if you don't have them there may be cases where the coils don't work properly (guess)
poobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 05:33 PM   #1353
I'm Miserable!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fort Bragg, NC
Posts: 189
Total Cats: 0
Default

Ok cool, no problems using the 2 4700s?

You wired them in parallel I assume. 1 on each power and ground for each coil pack connector?
BoostedTrixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2010, 05:58 PM   #1354
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 774
Total Cats: -5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostedTrixx View Post
Ok cool, no problems using the 2 4700s?



You wired them in parallel I assume. 1 on each power and ground for each coil pack connector?
I actually ran the COPs with the stock ECU ( higher dwell ) and the resistor ground disconnected - no problems with that either...

I wired mine all together in a little Radio **** project box and that box is wired close the harness. Not 1 for each coil pack.

I may find the limitations of the COP set up when I get my Greddy turbo up and running but right now I doubt that I even need plugs .
poobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 12:27 AM   #1355
I'm Miserable!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fort Bragg, NC
Posts: 189
Total Cats: 0
Default

So I took my hand at trying to wire up some coil on plugs on my 94, I didnt wire in the capacitor, and I only used the power/ground/tach signal wire from 1 harness, and just the trigger wire from the other, do I need to run both the power/ground/tach wires from both harnesses or will 1 work?

The car turns over but doesnt start. I have a datalog attached of me trying to start the car.

Cranking dwell set at 5.5
running set at 2.5

Ninja Edit: Had the trigger wires crossed, switched and fired right up, anybody had any problems with not having the capacitors in? No so far yet, I am going to put some miles on the setup and see how things go.
Attached Files
File Type: msl cops.msl (2.6 KB, 99 views)

Last edited by BoostedTrixx; 11-22-2010 at 04:41 AM.
BoostedTrixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 07:07 AM   #1356
I'm Miserable!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fort Bragg, NC
Posts: 189
Total Cats: 0
Default

Some pictures of my COP conversion, without the hold down plate done yet. Just got done tonight so sorry for the dirty unorganized engine bay. Any feedback let me know, feedback gives ideas to improvements. No capacitors were used.

Name:  DSC_0542.jpg
Views: 8
Size:  56.4 KB
Name:  DSC_0541.jpg
Views: 8
Size:  42.0 KB
Name:  DSC_0543.jpg
Views: 8
Size:  71.6 KB
BoostedTrixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 07:54 AM   #1357
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,272
Total Cats: 32
Default

Were those plugs genuine Toyota ones? It seems everyone has different colours!
timk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 02:13 PM   #1358
I'm Miserable!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fort Bragg, NC
Posts: 189
Total Cats: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saboteur View Post
Were those plugs genuine Toyota ones? It seems everyone has different colours!
yup, come off a Solara, got them on ebay with pigtails for around $75 shipped.
BoostedTrixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 10:41 PM   #1359
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Las Vegas, Nv.
Posts: 17
Total Cats: -1
Default

When you tie a capacitor to ground you are trying to conduct some frequency to ground. If you have no problems now that does not mean that your circuit is not as clean as it can be. You should shunt the spike created by the discharge of the coils to ground to keep from having that noise spike induced into the rest of your electonics.
moonshadowmetals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 12:13 AM   #1360
Junior Member
 
Golferluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 497
Total Cats: 3
Default

Glad you figured it out man, looks clean!
Golferluke is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM
01-05 Fab9 PNP COPs (used) FrankB Miata parts for sale/trade 6 09-30-2015 12:48 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:19 AM.