COP Thread - Page 65 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


DIY Turbo Discussion greddy on a 1.8? homebrew kit?

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2010, 02:41 PM   #1281
Junior Member
 
Golferluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 497
Total Cats: 3
Default

Looks like I popped my coils last night :( so might as well go the cop route instead of $300 coilpack route lol. I located some cops at a salvage yard for $20 a piece (cheapest I could find on www.car-part.com) but I need to know where to get the connectors, is there a part # I can order from oreillys? (in springfield I can order just about any part oreillys stocks and get it the same day or next day depending on what time I order)
Golferluke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 05:00 PM   #1282
Cpt. Slow
iTrader: (25)
 
curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 12,105
Total Cats: 518
Default

Go on ebay and get the stock toyota plugs, cut off the harness with a couple inches of lead still on. Then solder on extensions. Making your own plugs will eventually fail, and in my experience was near impossible. I have no idea how people ground the metal pins down as per the instructions and made them work. You'll have to do some searching on ebay, but they're on there, it's where I bought mine.

AHA!
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/TOYOT...Q5fAccessories
on sale too.
curly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 07:24 PM   #1283
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,809
Total Cats: 1,780
Default

yep, i bought from that same dude.




howd you pop the coils?
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 07:45 PM   #1284
Junior Member
 
Golferluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 497
Total Cats: 3
Default

Might have to do that if I can't find them locally. (it's my dd) I have no idea, hooked up my ms3 last night and this morning they didn't work with the stock ecu. Didn't flash firmware or anything.

Ps, why don't coils have a fuse or something?
Golferluke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 02:51 PM   #1285
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 350
Total Cats: -2
Default

These guys have the right parts. Pins, bodies, seals, etc. It's cheap. You can make a perfect harness from scratch, no splicing.

http://www.bmotorsports.com/
SolarYellow510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 04:06 PM   #1286
G2B
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 27
Total Cats: 0
Default

Any on have a cheap source for the 10K uF Capacitors?


scratch that, should have looked around a bit.

Last edited by G2B; 08-12-2010 at 07:54 PM.
G2B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 08:05 PM   #1287
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 291
Total Cats: 5
Default

Got mine from the same guy, coils too. He combined shipping and I got the whole shibang for less then $100. I got brown connectors but oh well. I had to put two 4700 uF capacitors in parallel cause I couldn't find a 10k that could handle 12v that wasn't huge. I also wired the resistor for the tach signal in the igniter .

Name:  100_3310.jpg
Views: 7
Size:  43.4 KB

Name:  100_3318.jpg
Views: 7
Size:  139.7 KB
Sokool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 08:41 AM   #1288
Junior Member
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 332
Total Cats: 0
Default

So who wants to make me one of these for about $200? lol.
longuyen88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 09:44 AM   #1289
Miotta FTW!
iTrader: (24)
 
Splitime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,292
Total Cats: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by longuyen88 View Post
So who wants to make me one of these for about $200? lol.
I just bought another set of parts with that intention. no dibs..
but keep a look out for when I put it up for sale
Splitime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 08:19 PM   #1290
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Posts: 2,050
Total Cats: 433
Default

Just put together and installed my setup today.

Car runs great with the COPs.

I would like to thank everyone on this forum who have provided input for this modification.

One thing: The car did not like having a CAP and the dwell reducer together. Popped the ENG fuse twice that way. I said the hell with it, and just went with the dwell reducer. Like I said, runs great.

Any idea why the capacitor would not agree with the dwell reducer?
Godless Commie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 09:23 PM   #1291
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,809
Total Cats: 1,780
Default

did you install it backwards? should be a polar cap, bi-polar will not work.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 10:18 PM   #1292
Elite Member
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Gainesville,Fl
Posts: 3,354
Total Cats: 7
Default

I want to 'ground' my harness. How? Do I attach the grounds coming from the connectors into a single wire?

Nevermind. God dammit...

Last edited by turotufas; 08-15-2010 at 10:00 PM.
turotufas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 08:13 AM   #1293
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Posts: 2,050
Total Cats: 433
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
did you install it backwards? should be a polar cap, bi-polar will not work.
It was a polar cap. I even checked polarity with my voltmeter.

I then extended the cap's leads and connected them to 12V and ground. The fuse lasted maybe five seconds.

Anyway, I had a long test drive (couple hundred miles) yesterday.
Not a hickup, perfectly smooth, even during this ridiculous heatwave we are experiencing this month.

My next step is a new set of plugs gapped at .040".
Godless Commie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 12:06 AM   #1294
Junior Member
 
Golferluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 497
Total Cats: 3
Default

Got my harness ready today and I have the coils I'm just waiting on the connectors to come fedex tommorow. I read a little ways into the thread and couldn't find where the coilpack harness plugs into. My oem coil harness runs under the intake manifold and couldn't figure out where it lead to. Not really sure if there even is a plug like the NA's have so instead I just cut off the coilpack plugs and wired up a 6 wire plug from radioshack. Should have everything up and running tommorow morning ish.

Did you guys have to modifiy your coils to fit? My coils don't go down between the "humps" all the way, theres about a 3-4mm gap. There off a 03 corolla. No biggy though, unless theres just something wierd I'm doing wrong i'll just trim down the sides a bit.
Golferluke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 12:23 AM   #1295
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,011
Total Cats: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Golferluke View Post
Got my harness ready today and I have the coils I'm just waiting on the connectors to come fedex tommorow. I read a little ways into the thread and couldn't find where the coilpack harness plugs into. My oem coil harness runs under the intake manifold and couldn't figure out where it lead to. Not really sure if there even is a plug like the NA's have so instead I just cut off the coilpack plugs and wired up a 6 wire plug from radioshack. Should have everything up and running tommorow morning ish.

Did you guys have to modifiy your coils to fit? My coils don't go down between the "humps" all the way, theres about a 3-4mm gap. There off a 03 corolla. No biggy though, unless theres just something wierd I'm doing wrong i'll just trim down the sides a bit.
You have to file the edge of the plastic area holding the rubber gasket.
lazzer408 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 12:53 PM   #1296
Junior Member
 
Golferluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 497
Total Cats: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Perez View Post
Black/White is your +12 supply. Brown/Yellow is coil 1, Brown is coil 2.
****, I just re-read this. I think I have it backwards. Still confused on the numbers though.

Coilpack #1: 1&4
Coilpack #2: 2&3

Could somebody confirm this?
Golferluke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 01:19 PM   #1297
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Posts: 2,050
Total Cats: 433
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Golferluke View Post
****, I just re-read this. I think I have it backwards. Still confused on the numbers though.

Coilpack #1: 1&4
Coilpack #2: 2&3

Could somebody confirm this?
Coilpack on the pass side is 1&4. Has a blue dot just above the plug.

Also, brown/yellow lead goes to 1&4.
Brown is for 2&3.

You can connect the two black&white leads together. That's 12V.

Best thing to do is connecting the black leads together, and adding another black wire with an eyelet big enough for one of the bolts behind the head. You get a perfect ground that way.
Godless Commie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 01:29 PM   #1298
Junior Member
 
Golferluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 497
Total Cats: 3
Default

ok thanks, I don't feel like taking my harness connectors apart so I think I'm just going to cut the two wires and solder them back oppisite of how they are. Since I just cut into the factory plugs and theres already 2 12v wires in there I figured I might as well leave em seperate unless theres some kind of performance advantage. Same things with the grounds, if I have problems later I might switch that to the independent ground like you said though.
Golferluke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 01:40 PM   #1299
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Posts: 2,050
Total Cats: 433
Default

A very cool thing to do would be to use the black&white 12V lead to trigger a relay.
Main power for the relay would of course be taken from the underhood fuse box (the terminal with the 10mm nut.)
That way the ECU would be protected from any power surge issues, the coils would be fed better, and the load on the harness would be greatly reduced.

(You could also remove the relay as a theft protection measure, as well.)
Godless Commie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 01:18 AM   #1300
Junior Member
 
Golferluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 497
Total Cats: 3
Default

ITS ALIVE!!! Started first time! Then quickly died right after (didn't hook up the brake booster hose) after hooking it back up... the battery was dead, jumped the battery and then after that... ITS ALIVE!!!
Golferluke is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM
01-05 Fab9 PNP COPs (used) FrankB Miata parts for sale/trade 6 09-30-2015 12:48 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:48 PM.