COP Thread - Page 71 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


DIY Turbo Discussion greddy on a 1.8? homebrew kit?

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-06-2011, 10:12 AM   #1401
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 774
Total Cats: -5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Der_Idiot View Post
Touch the coils after 20 minutes of high-rpm driving and find out
I was running mine with the OEM ECU for a long time and don't recall that they got hot. I did touch them a couple of time after a few mile drive...

Two of them finally took a crap while I was burning a file to the Megasquirt ECU.

I guess the extra dwell will stress them even if does not fry them right away.
poobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 01:06 AM   #1402
Senior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 1,298
Total Cats: 22
Default

Alright, I have the COPs installed and the wiring done, but the car is running pretty bad, almost like a lawn mower. It doesn't seem to be a non-firing cylinder as we pulled the clips off all four one at a time and it still ran (didn't start w/o 2 plugged in..), I'm pretty tired so I might have missed something. I didn't trim the sides of the COPs so they are sitting about 1/4" off the valve cover right now... I'll check again in the morning.

Could it be because I didn't change the dwell timing on the Hydra? I only started it to make sure it actually started..
Der_Idiot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 02:18 PM   #1403
Cpt. Slow
iTrader: (25)
 
curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 12,110
Total Cats: 518
Default

Sounds like it's not running off all cylinders. With it idleing, pull one plug off at a time. No change in idle means that cylinders not working, if the car dies that's one of the two cylinders it's most likely running off.

I'm guessing you're only working on 2 cylinders, either 1&4 or 2&3.
curly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 02:26 PM   #1404
Senior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 1,298
Total Cats: 22
Default

Does anyone know where to find the Dwell time setting in the Hydra app? There's nothing even close to that naming in here..
Der_Idiot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 05:48 PM   #1405
Senior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 1,298
Total Cats: 22
Default

I believe I have found what I am looking for, but why the hell is it listed under "2D Engine Calibration" and not under Ignition, wtf. Here's my old map vs my new one, using the graph supplied by Jason. The graph and timing on the bottom-middle is the default in the hydra left by FM. Now to test it..

Der_Idiot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 06:56 PM   #1406
Senior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 1,298
Total Cats: 22
Default

That resulted in the car not starting at all. Now I am confused..
Der_Idiot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 11:07 AM   #1407
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 455
Total Cats: 18
Default

COPS In!

I picked up COPS from a V6 Toyota which are the longer style. I had my local machine shop make up a mount in aluminium which gives me lots of meat to work with for mounting the COPs in place. I made up a plug and play harness incorporating a dwell reducer (using Jason's circuit) which practically disappears from view unless you know what you're looking at.

I don't know what the relative availability of V6 to I4 COPs is but this mount opens up an extra source to use. If there is interest I'll have my guy quote me on a few. If no interest then I have a unique install
Attached Thumbnails
COP Thread-img_5393.jpg   COP Thread-img_5390.jpg   COP Thread-img_5359.jpg  
BarbyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 01:17 PM   #1408
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: keyport, nj
Posts: 70
Total Cats: 0
Default

stupid question, but on the 90-93 harness how come a 1k resistor is needed between the tach wire and the 12v wire if your running a megasquirt? what purpose does it serve? i looked around and couldnt find anything about it.
93turboNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 01:35 PM   #1409
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,904
Total Cats: 1,793
Default

the stock ECU provides a pull-up to power the tach output signal. That resistor from 12v to the tach signal, does that same.
Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 01:41 PM   #1410
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: keyport, nj
Posts: 70
Total Cats: 0
Default

got cha. thanks!!!
93turboNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 09:22 AM   #1411
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ballina Australia
Posts: 86
Total Cats: 2
Default

ive been trying to google my big time but cannot find the answeres.

from what i have read all toyota cops have the same 4 pin layout.
my question is will the yaris/prius cops from the inz-fxe provide enough spark to better the na mx5 stock system?

only reason im asking is i am having trouble getting the 1zz ones at a reasonable price in aus.

Cheers guys
spaztikcamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 11:20 AM   #1412
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sun Prairie WI
Posts: 50
Total Cats: 1
Default

Yes you are correct that they all have the same pin out. However as that I work as a tech for Toyota. That are all different in length and width. So you just have to try them out. I do have a call into are FTS agent on the output range. I do however believe that they are all going to be the same to 4 cyl engines. I do know that 2gr v6 engine they are to long and the shaft is to wide.
92mazdaspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 11:24 AM   #1413
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,904
Total Cats: 1,793
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BarbyCar View Post
COPS In!

why not turn the plate around 180 so the clips point towards the firware?
Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 11:58 AM   #1414
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sun Prairie WI
Posts: 50
Total Cats: 1
Default

No reply from the FTS agent yet but we do have a ton of coils laying around the shop. I'm going to check the fitment of all other coils i have laying around out during lunch. Have been meaning to do this anyway.
92mazdaspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 07:10 PM   #1415
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 455
Total Cats: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
why not turn the plate around 180 so the clips point towards the firware?
Assuming firware=Firewall
Yup, I could do this, but why? Am I missing some benefit?
BarbyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 07:19 PM   #1416
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,904
Total Cats: 1,793
Default

looks cooler?
Braineack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 10:56 AM   #1417
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ballina Australia
Posts: 86
Total Cats: 2
Default

installed the prius coils they fitted fine.

all up took me about 2-3 hrs to do the conversion.

as soon as i get my clutch slave cyl il'll be able to test if i fixed the misfire i was getting in second on boost.
spaztikcamel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 09:49 PM   #1418
I'm Miserable!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 38
Total Cats: 0
Default

Just installed mine on my preboosted 1.6L. the difference is Amazing! After the test drive I began to wonder the same thing someone else posted on but never got answered here. Has anyone dyno'd before and after? I know you cant sit in a car and feel a certain hp increase but I know for a fact that thing woke up a great deal! I definitely noticed Quicker Revs, Better Acceleration, way better idle, and im pretty sure my mileage is increased. its day one so I couldnt tell ya. anyone who questions the COP upgrade is an idiot and are too dumb to take chances. took me 2hrs to wire and solder up everything before work. fired right up and took the 20min drive to work with no problems haha. gonna work on a bracket to hold em down and clean up the wiring tomorrow.

Begi-S coming in 1 week
DangBroski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 01:04 PM   #1419
Junior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Novi, MI
Posts: 308
Total Cats: 1
Default

I'm confused what exactly I need. I have a harness for a 96 but need it to work on a 94. I need the extra connector that plugs into each cop plug, but which part number is that? I have toyota coils.
Larimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 06:13 PM   #1420
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sun Prairie WI
Posts: 50
Total Cats: 1
Default

I have a whole Toyota harness if you want it. Comes with the Toyota wires and plugs. Just splice it in.
92mazdaspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM
01-05 Fab9 PNP COPs (used) FrankB Miata parts for sale/trade 6 09-30-2015 12:48 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:08 AM.