93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread - Page 80 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2014, 12:58 PM   #1581
FAB
Fab9Tuning.com
iTrader: (4)
 
FAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 935
Total Cats: 395
Default

No crush! I'm tempted to send you my intercooler pipes for a test fitment just to make you a set for this car. I'd hate to see such top notch work with crush bent pipes.
FAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 12:59 PM   #1582
Destroyer of Inconel
iTrader: (37)
 
EO2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: In ur driveway, abusin' ur WPA
Posts: 9,262
Total Cats: 870
Default

FM one piece silicone pipes FTW. Ask 18psi about fitment with the Fab9/Vibrant 350 core, I believe that's the setup he was running before partout.

Also, make sure you have those brackets oriented in such a way that the strain relief built into the bracket is supporting the wire, the put a hefty zip tie around it to secure it. If you do not, the wires will eventually work their way loose out of the back of the gauge... ask me how I know
EO2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 01:48 PM   #1583
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 79
Total Cats: -10
Default

I still think that your gauges are too low to have any informative value.
But maybe it's just me.
Vuti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 01:55 PM   #1584
Destroyer of Inconel
iTrader: (37)
 
EO2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: In ur driveway, abusin' ur WPA
Posts: 9,262
Total Cats: 870
Default

Its a compromise. If you put the gauges up where you can see them (A-pillar, dash) so can everyone else. You can stick them in the HVAC vents, but then you lose a vent. You can stick them in the console, but then they are out of direct line of sight.

If this was becauseracecar, there would be no question as to mounting. For becausestreetcar, I personally think its good to have the data available, even if the location is a compromise.

I'm starting to think needle gauges rotated to "nominal" is a good idea for this type of mounting.
EO2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 01:58 PM   #1585
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by concealer404 View Post
After all this... you want crush bent intercooler piping? I swear i should give you negative props for that.
Let he with no negative props cast the first stone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by FAB View Post
No crush! I'm tempted to send you my intercooler pipes for a test fitment just to make you a set for this car. I'd hate to see such top notch work with crush bent pipes.
I'd welcome it, if you need to charge me for shipping or anything else let me know, I ain't scared of being a test dummy!

Quote:
Originally Posted by EO2K View Post
FM one piece silicone pipes FTW. Ask 18psi about fitment with the Fab9/Vibrant 350 core, I believe that's the setup he was running before partout.

Also, make sure you have those brackets oriented in such a way that the strain relief built into the bracket is supporting the wire, the put a hefty zip tie around it to secure it. If you do not, the wires will eventually work their way loose out of the back of the gauge... ask me how I know
Awesome, props! I totally wouldn't have even considered that,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vuti View Post
I still think that your gauges are too low to have any informative value.
But maybe it's just me.
If they do turn out to be too low I think an alternate solution wouldn't be too hard to make. For now, it is tolerable.

--------

Ok I wasn't really considering crushed pipes, just flights of errant laziness that kick in from time to time.

Rotated the turbo down.



But this damn bracket is right in the way of a 45/90 degree bend. I can not for the life of me recall what it is for. Power steering bracket?

Can I cut it off?

*edit* I guess I could use a straight silicone coupler and add the 90 bend to the aluminum pipe farther down...

Attached Thumbnails
93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread-img_2131.jpg   93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread-img_2132.jpg  
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 02:03 PM   #1586
Crumple Zone Tester
iTrader: (7)
 
mgeoffriau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Jackson, MS
Posts: 7,602
Total Cats: 432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffbucc View Post
Can I cut it off?
DO IT!





I love how a Google Image Search for "faeflora" returns all kinds of sawzall images.
Attached Thumbnails
93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread-ul6.jpg  
mgeoffriau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 02:10 PM   #1587
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgeoffriau View Post
DO IT!
Massive Fae fail image
Attached Thumbnails
93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread-family-guy-throw-up-o.gif  
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 02:31 PM   #1588
Elite Member
iTrader: (3)
 
concealer404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 7,457
Total Cats: 607
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgeoffriau View Post
DO IT!




I love how a Google Image Search for "faeflora" returns all kinds of sawzall images.


And...... elves. o_O
concealer404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 02:40 PM   #1589
FAB
Fab9Tuning.com
iTrader: (4)
 
FAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 935
Total Cats: 395
Default

You don't need it to be 90 degrees. Just rotate the 90 elbow you put on the turbo (towards the driver side). I personally would cut it though.
FAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 02:58 PM   #1590
Elite Member
iTrader: (33)
 
RotorNutFD3S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newnan, GA
Posts: 2,539
Total Cats: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffbucc View Post
But this damn bracket is right in the way of a 45/90 degree bend. I can not for the life of me recall what it is for. Power steering bracket?

Can I cut it off?
It's the mounting bracket for the OEM lower radiator hose hardpipe, NAs have two hose sections, one running from the radiator to the hardpipe and from the hardpipe to the mixing manifold. If you've moved to a single lower radiator hose (NB hose or FM hose) or another solution, you do not need that bracket any more. Cut or bend as needed, just not as much as faeflora. lol
RotorNutFD3S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 03:46 PM   #1591
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Thanks Rotor

Slight segue, but I remember the paint shop telling me they get busy this time of the year so I stripped everything off the hardtop and am going to take it to a window shop to remove the glass. Vlad said you can do it yourself, but I don't want to risk breaking very very expensive hardtop glass(seriously have you looked at the price of it???)

Only bad thing I found was that the plastic trim along the bottom is missing about a foot of trim. Not sure if it is really necessary, but I'll be looking at replacing it.

I even managed not to break any clips! That is a first for me. Paint is in good shape but I think I'm going to lay some bondo down in a couple of deep scratches. Paint shop didn't do a very good job with my car on slight chips/dents so I'm going to do all the prep work myself this time.




Attached Thumbnails
93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread-img_2133.jpg   93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread-img_2135.jpg  
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 04:46 PM   #1592
Elite Member
iTrader: (33)
 
RotorNutFD3S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newnan, GA
Posts: 2,539
Total Cats: 29
Default

When I had my hardtop repainted I was going to replace that trim as well. After some consideration I decided not to, IMO it looks better without it, at least on a black car. If you decide to replace your trim though, I have the little "protectors" brand new in the bag just wasting away on my shelf. You're welcome to them, would save you $30 or so for just those two pieces.

They look like:



They just provide retention for the leading edges of the trim and mostly keep it from getting pulled off.
Attached Thumbnails
93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread-3eeff5b7e23260640bbf60fe0c97acdf__78621_zoom.jpg  
RotorNutFD3S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 05:13 PM   #1593
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RotorNutFD3S View Post
When I had my hardtop repainted I was going to replace that trim as well. After some consideration I decided not to, IMO it looks better without it, at least on a black car.
See I thought maybe I was weird that it looked better without the trim. It seems like the "flow" of the hardtop gets interrupted, or shall I say the hard edge is more pronounced with the trim.

If the trim is pricy I'll just day screw it. It's going g to be permanent anyways. I'm just glad all the latch screws came off easy. I have the Rennenmetal hardtop brackets sitting in a box waiting to be put on.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 05:18 PM   #1594
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 34,453
Total Cats: 2,272
Default

holler at me if you want an FM silicone lower rad hose. to get rid of that ugly bracket and failsauce 2 piece rad hose

as for trim: I re-installed mine on current HT because I didn't run it on previous and there was slight chipping on the edges without it or something.

agreed that it looks way better without though
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 05:42 PM   #1595
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 110
Total Cats: 42
Default

My brother cut his bracket off (using a hacksaw) just to where the surface overhanging above it would allow. Not sure if you have enough room at this point in your bay to get something in there and shave the whole thing off. It DOES free up a lot of space once that bracket is out of the way.

Question to anyone about the hardtop trim around the window: when I painted my hardtop, I removed my exterior trim around the window because it had paint on it from PO. Was wondering if anyone was able to fit on a new one without taking the window out. The two times I've seen someone try to put it on without taking out the window, it wrinkles at the bottom corners where the window bends.
Yezzir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 05:43 PM   #1596
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Am I just overthinking this?

AEM instructions call for a 12v power source with a 5A fuse in between the source.

I know you can just tap into a line under the dash, but am I crazy for doing it "the right way" and running some 16g wire back to the battery and putting a 30A 12v inline fuse before the battery?
(30A 12/24VDC Mini Blade In-Line Fuse Holder : Fuse Holders | RadioShack.com)

I know it is overkill, but it is what the instructions call for...Where do most people like to tap into?

I'm so excited to get rid of the rats nest of butt connectors from the previous gauges.
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 06:30 PM   #1597
Senior Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Mass.
Posts: 816
Total Cats: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffbucc View Post

Can I cut it off?


Just drill the spot welds and rip it off with a pair of vise grips. Buy FM lower hose. Win.


-Zach
thasac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 06:38 PM   #1598
FAB
Fab9Tuning.com
iTrader: (4)
 
FAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 935
Total Cats: 395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffbucc View Post
Am I just overthinking this?

AEM instructions call for a 12v power source with a 5A fuse in between the source.

I know you can just tap into a line under the dash, but am I crazy for doing it "the right way" and running some 16g wire back to the battery and putting a 30A 12v inline fuse before the battery?
(30A 12/24VDC Mini Blade In-Line Fuse Holder : Fuse Holders | RadioShack.com)

I know it is overkill, but it is what the instructions call for...Where do most people like to tap into?

I'm so excited to get rid of the rats nest of butt connectors from the previous gauges.

Jeff - Use the wires off of the ignition harness.

BLUE is a switched 12v supply on the harness going to your Ignition Key harness.
WHITE is a 12v constant (battery) wire.
FAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 07:23 PM   #1599
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Cedar City, UT
Posts: 2,769
Total Cats: 948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thasac View Post
Just drill the spot welds and rip it off with a pair of vise grips. Buy FM lower hose. Win.


-Zach
Thanks! Vlad already pushed it on me so we are good to go...that crafty russian, always selling everything he owns.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FAB View Post
Jeff - Use the wires off of the ignition harness.

BLUE is a switched 12v supply on the harness going to your Ignition Key harness.
WHITE is a 12v constant (battery) wire.
I've said it too often but...I love you Bryan
Attached Thumbnails
93' Miata stolen and flipped build thread-38793-stewie-griffin-gif-fmcu.gif  
Jeffbucc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2014, 07:36 PM   #1600
Elite Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Granbury, TX
Posts: 5,889
Total Cats: 566
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffbucc View Post
Am I just overthinking this?

AEM instructions call for a 12v power source with a 5A fuse in between the source.

I know you can just tap into a line under the dash, but am I crazy for doing it "the right way" and running some 16g wire back to the battery and putting a 30A 12v inline fuse before the battery?
(30A 12/24VDC Mini Blade In-Line Fuse Holder : Fuse Holders | RadioShack.com)

I know it is overkill, but it is what the instructions call for...Where do most people like to tap into?

I'm so excited to get rid of the rats nest of butt connectors from the previous gauges.
These work well:

Amazon.com: Littelfuse FHA200BP ATO Add-A-Circuit Kit: Automotive Amazon.com: Littelfuse FHA200BP ATO Add-A-Circuit Kit: Automotive


I'd rather do this and not tap-into/molest a factory wiring harness.
hornetball is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
elesjuan's mediocre 95 Miata adventure (google fiber edition) elesjuan Build Threads 8 02-16-2016 08:36 PM
Project DDoS: '99 "Budget" boost build ProjectDDoS Build Threads 1 09-09-2015 01:52 PM
Drummersrs old Miata, new to me foshizzle Meet and Greet 9 09-08-2015 12:26 PM
Noob here, turbo NC project starts now. turboLuigi Meet and Greet 2 09-04-2015 01:29 PM


Tags
anti-rattle mafia, circle jerk, don't touch the girls, epic ocd, gayle, i see a dust speck, let's clean this too, massive erection, old becomes new, putty in our hands, resistance is futile, shock brace doesn't match, so fresh n so clean, tucked in waistline, want to touch the hiney, we spend jeff's money, whale with herpes

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:44 PM.