COP Thread - Page 76 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


DIY Turbo Discussion greddy on a 1.8? homebrew kit?

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2011, 01:49 AM   #1501
Elite Member
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lebanon, TN
Posts: 1,668
Total Cats: 63
Default

Here's a fun fact for ya. Apparently the Hydra won't fire COP's run in wasted spark. I was pulling my hair out in the garage and called Trackspeed for any ideas. He can correct me if I mis-quote him. Long story short the Hydra can fire 1 coil for 2 cyl or sequential fired. For some reason it doesn't want to fire 2 coils for 2 cyl. I could fire the coils manually but the coils wouldn't fire during the starting. I've given up, ordered more weatherpacks, and trying to figure out how I want to wire it all up this time. On that note,

Any issues with wiring the ground wires to the block? or any other place good? Just trying to limit the rats nest. So this is the idea. Factory coil plugs go to Cyl 1&2, then pin off the Hydra for cyl 3&4 for +12&trigger and make the ground go to the block(unless there is a better spot for a ground location). Then click the sequential ignition button in the hydra and hope nothing explodes.
TorqueZombie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 04:41 PM   #1502
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 82
Total Cats: 0
Default

A mount Pop made for a friends ITA car.



More pics here.
https://sites.google.com/site/wizzermotorsports/parts
engled is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 01:24 PM   #1503
Junior Member
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lake City, Florida
Posts: 150
Total Cats: -16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by engled View Post
A mount Pop made for a friends ITA car.



More pics here.
https://sites.google.com/site/wizzermotorsports/parts
nice
pitbull113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 03:49 PM   #1504
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Waterbury
Posts: 33
Total Cats: 0
Default

Im happy people are still kinda chatting on this thread, Because I have a question i cannot find an answer to in all 76 thorough pages of awesomeness...

I have an early 95 with 4 wire coils... I have 2 dead coils im gonna hack up, wire/solder/epoxy to make pnp harnesses... It woul seem most people only pull the trigger wire from which ever side they arent getting power ground tach from? It would seem "smarter" to ALL the wires from both harnesses, no? power,gnd,tach,trigger for 1-4, as thats what the factory coil does, and power, gnd, tach, trigger for 2,3 with the oppisite connector...

Does anyone see a problem with this? I fully understand its a bit more work... but i think the end result would be cleaner power using 16ga wiring (thats the factory size of the toyota pigtails atleast)... Im i missing something? Is there not a tach signal in both harnesses? you guys are MUCH better than me with this stuff... I just figured it would be a more stable setup, and be a little more akin to a factory setup... Kindly prove me wrong!
taxicabyellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 04:31 PM   #1505
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Waterbury
Posts: 33
Total Cats: 0
Default

NM! refered to a wiring diagram, and i see that the two harnesses come from 1 pwr wire anyway, and the gnd come from the rear engine chassis gnd... Can one of yall just confirm im retarded?
taxicabyellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 04:36 PM   #1506
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,872
Total Cats: 1,790
Default

there should be a power/gnd/trigger/tach in each connector right?

just connector together the power, ground, and tach wires on your side of the wiring, but there should remain 2 trigger wires; 1 for each batch of coils.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 03:43 AM   #1507
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 48
Total Cats: 0
Default

Finished the cops setup in my NA8 today, I modified the exising loom to make them plug and play.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-htSa...ature=youtu.be
green_comet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 06:25 AM   #1508
IHI
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 200
Total Cats: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by green_comet View Post
Finished the cops setup in my NA8 today, I modified the exising loom to make them plug and play.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-htSa...ature=youtu.be
Looks clean. But I am missing a very important part....
Looks a bit like this:
Attached Thumbnails
COP Thread-turbo_01.gif  
IHI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 07:03 AM   #1509
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 48
Total Cats: 0
Default

It's in the works, don't worry. lol
green_comet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 11:35 AM   #1510
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Posts: 2,050
Total Cats: 433
Default

I redid my COP setup the other day.
For some weird reason, my initial attempts to include a capacitor in the circuit had resulted in blown fuses, so I had just opted to leave the cap out.
This time around, I properly charged the cap and installed it with the new wiring and the improved grounds.
Makes a very, very visible difference from the get go. Idle AFR values are about .7 points or so leaner now.. Same with cruise.
Unreal stuff.
Next, I will install two dozen caps for ultimate fuel economy...
Godless Commie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 02:59 AM   #1511
Elite Member
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lebanon, TN
Posts: 1,668
Total Cats: 63
Default

More caps=more awesome
Attached Thumbnails
COP Thread-2eee8ew.jpg  
TorqueZombie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 06:07 PM   #1512
Elite Member
iTrader: (6)
 
blaen99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 4,112
Total Cats: 27
Default

http://www.ebay.com/itm/TOYOTA-COROL...item4843eceb2c

2 left, 4 pigtails + 4 COPs for ~$80 shipped.

Delete when done. Figured someone else would want these.
blaen99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 03:01 PM   #1513
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 60
Total Cats: 0
Default

I just finished my cops harness project. It looks good and all but.. I forgot to slice ground wire to head grounding. Now it grounds only to cars oem harness. Shieet, does it work without it? I have '93 1.6
jim_rocketmow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 06:31 PM   #1514
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 774
Total Cats: -5
Default

Maybe you guys can help with this..

I blew two coils on my COP set up about a year ago while trying to burn anMSQ into my Megasquirt.

Recently I purchased two toyota coils from Fleabay and replaced the bad coils but the tach does not work. Other than that the motor runs great with the COP set-up.

Does the tach need al the COPs to drive it ?

Any idaes what could be wrong and how I can fix it ?


Thanks
poobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 01:49 PM   #1515
Elite Member
iTrader: (6)
 
blaen99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 4,112
Total Cats: 27
Default

So, about to throw in COPs. Any big dos or don'ts guys?
blaen99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 01:51 PM   #1516
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,872
Total Cats: 1,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poobs View Post
Maybe you guys can help with this..

I blew two coils on my COP set up about a year ago while trying to burn anMSQ into my Megasquirt.

Recently I purchased two toyota coils from Fleabay and replaced the bad coils but the tach does not work. Other than that the motor runs great with the COP set-up.

Does the tach need al the COPs to drive it ?

Any idaes what could be wrong and how I can fix it ?


Thanks

do you have IG- and b+ jumped with a 1K resistor in the diagnositics connector?

and if yes, check to see if you have continuity between ground and IG-, if you do, unplug each coil until it goes away. When it/if it does, that coil has a bad tach output.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 02:14 PM   #1517
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 774
Total Cats: -5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
do you have IG- and b+ jumped with a 1K resistor in the diagnositics connector?

and if yes, check to see if you have continuity between ground and IG-, if you do, unplug each coil until it goes away. When it/if it does, that coil has a bad tach output.
Thanks man!!!

Yes, I have the 1k ohm resistor and the caps too. It all worked fine before.

You mean unplug each coil until the tach comes back to identify the bad coil ?
poobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 02:16 PM   #1518
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,872
Total Cats: 1,790
Default

i guess you could do that too. if one is bad, the ig- wire will be grounded (when it shouldnt be)
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 06:35 PM   #1519
Junior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 64
Total Cats: 0
Default

Hey guys,

I've been following this thread and I found some Toyota Echo 1.5L COP 90919-02240. I followed all the wiring instructions including installing a 1k (1/4 watt) resistor in the +B and -IG and 10,000 uF Capacitor between +12V and ground.

Car fired up first try, idles great and cruises great but I'm getting what seems to be spark blow out on high rpm and boost. The plugs are still gapped at 0.026 (ran fine before with the stock 1.6 coil pack). Another problem is the tach isn't working at all.

I tried the "continuity test" Braineack suggested and everything was fine.
I strongly believe the 1.5L Toyota Echo COP aren't as suitable as the 1.8L Toyota COP.

Can anyone confirm this for me?
peterd444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 06:39 PM   #1520
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,872
Total Cats: 1,790
Default

check the coils, how many pins on the 3 or 4?

gap them back up to .040"
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM
01-05 Fab9 PNP COPs (used) FrankB Miata parts for sale/trade 6 09-30-2015 12:48 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:10 PM.