COP Thread - Page 77 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


DIY Turbo Discussion greddy on a 1.8? homebrew kit?

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2012, 05:52 PM   #1521
Junior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 64
Total Cats: 0
Default

There are four pins.
When the coil over plug is facing you, the wires from left to right are:
White/Black stripe, Green/Red stripe, solid yellow, Black/Red stripe.

I just gapped them about half an hour ago back to 0.040 idle is the same, cruising is good but high rpm and boost seems like a series of misfires.

Plugs I'm running are NGK Platinums ran fine a week ago with the 1.6 coil pack. I'm willing to purchase some new Spark Plugs just to see if that's the problem.

I'm also running MSPNP 9093, I've changed the Cranking Dwell to 3.5ms and the Running Dwell to 2.5ms, as noted in the instructions.
peterd444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 05:58 PM   #1522
Junior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 64
Total Cats: 0
Default

I'm planning on going to the bone yard tomorrow to find some 1.8L Toyota COP.
I'll post the results up here just for anyone else that may have this problem.
peterd444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 12:13 PM   #1523
Newb
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 32
Total Cats: 0
Default

I'm having to replace my third bad COP after 5 years. Is anyone else running a Link ECU burning COPs up? The bad COPs will still idle and drive but they miss hard at WOT.
spestis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 11:23 PM   #1524
Junior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 64
Total Cats: 0
Default

I found some 1.8L Toyota Celica COP rather than using the 1.5L Toyota Echo COP and I still can't get an RPM signal.

I measured the volts at the Instrument cluster for the (Yellow/Blue Stripe) Tachometer Wire that comes from the igniter to be 0.012 Volts. I also measured at the igniter (Yellow/Blue Stripe) to be 0.012 volts, so the signal is making it to the cluster but I believe its too weak. The stock 1.6 coil pack produces 0.700 volts at the instrument cluster Yellow/Blue Stripe.

I've followed all the steps and for some reason I cant get the tach to work.
Any suggestions/tests or alternatives to get this tach working?
peterd444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 05:30 PM   #1525
Elite Member
iTrader: (6)
 
blaen99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 4,112
Total Cats: 27
Default

Engine runs fine on 1.6 Coil Pack.

Swap over to COPs. Change dwell settings to FAQ settings.

No spark.

I followed the harness diagram as per the FAQ perfectly, and continuity testing verifies this. A COP left out with a plug inserted reveals no spark whatsoever.

What do, MT.net gods?
blaen99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 07:32 AM   #1526
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Guildford, UK
Posts: 164
Total Cats: 0
Default

These 90080 19019 seem pretty easy to get in the UK, will they work?
Freaky Roadster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 01:26 PM   #1527
Destroyer of Inconel
iTrader: (37)
 
EO2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: In ur driveway, abusin' ur WPA
Posts: 9,235
Total Cats: 858
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freaky Roadster View Post
These 90080 19019 seem pretty easy to get in the UK, will they work?
Is it 4 pin? If so, it should be fine.
EO2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 07:57 AM   #1528
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 20
Total Cats: 0
Default

With the Toyota COPs, do I need to use a capacitor if my Megasquirt is running them?
mrpham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 12:58 PM   #1529
Destroyer of Inconel
iTrader: (37)
 
EO2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: In ur driveway, abusin' ur WPA
Posts: 9,235
Total Cats: 858
Default

There is some debate as to if the capacitor is required or not. Some people use it with no issues, others don't use it and also have no issues. I used it in mine because it was readily available and I like what it does. YMMV.
EO2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 07:15 PM   #1530
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 20
Total Cats: 0
Default

Thanks mate. Does the capacitor have to be placed close to the coils or would it be ok to have it abuot 5ft away?

Another thing I was wondering about is, can I simply not use the tacho wires from the coils if I just use the Tacho output of my Megasquirt? Which I understand uses the CAS for RPM.
mrpham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 08:48 PM   #1531
Newb
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Total Cats: 0
Default

I came across a set of 2008 corolla COPs and started ordering the rest of the stuff needed to build these for my 95 today. My question is, since I havent taken the stock coil pack out yet, but the wires listed on the schematics, are those before or after the connectors going to the stock miata coils? Also, where exactly is the capacitor going? Since there are two connectors on the coil pack am I using the capacitor to tie together the second 12V and ground?
mortal_meerkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 09:17 PM   #1532
Junior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 60
Total Cats: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mortal_meerkat View Post
where exactly is the capacitor going? Since there are two connectors on the coil pack am I using the capacitor to tie together the second 12V and ground?
BUMP for this

im running a 91 w/mspnp is the capacitor even necessary
BELKNAP777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 08:47 AM   #1533
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (60)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 71,494
Total Cats: 1,562
Default

it goes between power and ground.


no.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 10:24 AM   #1534
Junior Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 60
Total Cats: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
it goes between power and ground.


no.
thanks for responding brain . i did dig through this monster of a post and find that a few pages back you mentioned the 90-93 have a cap already
BELKNAP777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 01:59 PM   #1535
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Total Cats: 0
Default COP resistance?

I've got two 90080-19023 and two 90919-02244 coils, and I believe it will be OK to use these together, can anyone confirm?

My main concern: One of the 90080-19023 coils is showing significantly lower resistance between the +12V and GND pins - ~24kOhms vs ~35kOhmns for the other 3 coils. Should I be concerned? Is this a potentially bad, or soon-to-be-bad coil?
miatacarpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 06:15 AM   #1536
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 55
Total Cats: 0
Default

Found a fancy COP set on eBay to the tune of almost $800 if anybody is insane...
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/OKADA-Plasma-...item27c7f20fd7
Crazy Drummer69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 08:56 AM   #1537
Junior Member
 
muoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 382
Total Cats: 60
Default

Is there way to check bad COP? I have occasional misfire in idle. RPM drops to around 600 and exhaust start banging due to unburned fuel. Had to be just one coil otherwise engine doesn’t run. Now I just have to find which coil...
muoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 10:07 AM   #1538
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 458
Total Cats: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by muoto View Post
Is there way to check bad COP? I have occasional misfire in idle. RPM drops to around 600 and exhaust start banging due to unburned fuel. Had to be just one coil otherwise engine doesn’t run. Now I just have to find which coil...
Yes. Keep car running. Unhook each one, idle should change with each one you pull (engine will not run right). The one that you pull that does not change how the engine is running....is the bad one.
MicaCeli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 01:41 PM   #1539
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Total Cats: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MicaCeli View Post
Yes. Keep car running. Unhook each one, idle should change with each one you pull (engine will not run right). The one that you pull that does not change how the engine is running....is the bad one.
That won't help you diagnose an "occasional misfire". I don't know the right answer, but that isn't it.
miatacarpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 03:36 PM   #1540
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Posts: 1,967
Total Cats: 366
Default

Your afr logs should tell you whether it is injector or coil related..
Godless Commie is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 03:00 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 12:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 12:45 AM
01-05 Fab9 PNP COPs (used) FrankB Miata parts for sale/trade 6 09-30-2015 11:48 AM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:31 PM.