COP Thread - Page 74 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


DIY Turbo Discussion greddy on a 1.8? homebrew kit?

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-06-2011, 05:12 PM   #1461
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,272
Total Cats: 32
Default

Just FYI if you are in Australia or New Zealand, Jaycar sell a suitable cap:
http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=RU6720

Looks like some cheap Chinese brand, but anyway.
timk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 05:16 PM   #1462
I'm a terrible person
iTrader: (19)
 
FRT_Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,293
Total Cats: 180
Default

I was under the impression that the stock wire harness had a cap already.
FRT_Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 05:23 PM   #1463
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,833
Total Cats: 1,786
Default

it does.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 05:24 PM   #1464
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,272
Total Cats: 32
Default

Does that mean an additional cap is just silly?
timk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 05:29 PM   #1465
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,833
Total Cats: 1,786
Default

sorta.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 06:01 PM   #1466
I'm a terrible person
iTrader: (19)
 
FRT_Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,293
Total Cats: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saboteur View Post
Does that mean an additional cap is just silly?
Probably wouldn't hurt. But who was it a few posts back said he built 7 sets with no cap and no issues.
FRT_Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2011, 07:07 PM   #1467
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,833
Total Cats: 1,786
Default

Reverant probably.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 05:18 AM   #1468
Elite Member
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Gainesville,Fl
Posts: 3,354
Total Cats: 7
Default Pointless Mobile Phone Pictures

Trailer connectors in da house!



Forgot that mother f'ing heat shrink.

Attached Thumbnails
COP Thread-303791_10150361616134744_775084743_9823579_1295399234_n.jpg   COP Thread-309071_10150361617689744_775084743_9823588_2013547525_n.jpg  
turotufas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2011, 05:44 AM   #1469
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (10)
 
Reverant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,440
Total Cats: 198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
Reverant probably.
Yup. No issues.
Reverant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2011, 08:30 PM   #1470
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,272
Total Cats: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reverant View Post
Yup. No issues.
Do you know if said capacitor is in the run of wire between the two coil plugs at the back of the engine, and the 4 pin plug at the front of the engine? This is on a non-VVT NB.

The reason I'm asking is that I'm looking at building a loom that plugs into that front connector.

I'm happy to pull an existing loom apart but if someone knows already it will save me a tonne of stuffing about.

Cheers

Last edited by timk; 09-15-2011 at 10:31 PM.
timk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 10:36 PM   #1471
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,272
Total Cats: 32
Default

I've attached a pic of the plug I was talking about. Do you know if the capacitor is between this plug and the two coil plugs at the rear of the engine?
Attached Thumbnails
COP Thread-photo.jpg  
timk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 10:46 PM   #1472
I'm a terrible person
iTrader: (19)
 
FRT_Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,293
Total Cats: 180
Default

I'm actually a bit interested in this as well... seeing as I am building my whole harness from scratch, I'd like to pull the cap in the harness and use the OEM one.
FRT_Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 02:19 AM   #1473
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (10)
 
Reverant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,440
Total Cats: 198
Default

I don't know that, sorry.
Reverant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 09:44 AM   #1474
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,833
Total Cats: 1,786
Default

I know the 90-93 does, It resides just above the ignitor and goes between ground and power on the blue wire from ignitor to ignition coil.

I've seen nothing that shows the 95+ does. The coils get power directly from the behind the engine fuse opposed to before it, directly off the ignition switch as the 90-93.

If I could acutally find the FSM in PDF format I'd buy them all, but I can only find these shitty Mitchell ones. But right now, I feel safe to say only the 90-93 has it.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 10:04 AM   #1475
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (10)
 
Reverant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,440
Total Cats: 198
Default

The 01-05 certainly does have it (it is bolted on the back of the cylinder head), it is coming through a 6-way connector on the front of the engine (2 grounds, 2 wires for the coolant temp sensor and 2 wires for the capacitor).
Reverant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 11:14 AM   #1476
I'm a terrible person
iTrader: (19)
 
FRT_Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,293
Total Cats: 180
Default

I'll find it on my 95 harness today.
FRT_Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 11:30 AM   #1477
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,833
Total Cats: 1,786
Default

I dont see it in the 99-00 FSM. It shows 3 wires on the CLT connector...there's an extra V/W wire that I can't quite figure out where it goes.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 08:35 PM   #1478
Junior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Novi, MI
Posts: 308
Total Cats: 1
Default

Here's a retarded question. I have COP's installed and running on my car, and hacked my coil harness for the connector. Now I'd like to check my ignition timing, is there any way to do this? My timing light goes over the 1st spark plug wire, which now obviously is gone. Is my only route to borrow another harness and plug my old coils back in to do that?
Larimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 08:51 PM   #1479
I'm a terrible person
iTrader: (19)
 
FRT_Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 7,293
Total Cats: 180
Default

The ghetto way I've seen it done is cut a spark plug wire in half. Put the spark plug end on the spark plug. Stick the other end in the COP and secure. Car should run.. and you can just place the timing light as usual.

Although I've heard good timing lights can still pick up the signal in the wires.

There might be a more sophisticated way. I've never actually done it, just seen it done with COPs.
FRT_Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 09:14 PM   #1480
Junior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Novi, MI
Posts: 308
Total Cats: 1
Default

Interesting. You're saying to just stick the severed end of the plug into the COP? I still have the old coil and plug wires which could be cut I suppose. I tried putting it just around the 3-4 wires going to the COP but didn't get any signal. Probably not the best timing light, though.
Larimer is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM
01-05 Fab9 PNP COPs (used) FrankB Miata parts for sale/trade 6 09-30-2015 12:48 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:16 PM.