COP Thread - Page 84 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


DIY Turbo Discussion greddy on a 1.8? homebrew kit?

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2013, 04:53 PM   #1661
Senior Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brownsburg,IN
Posts: 800
Total Cats: 58
Default

I will make a batch and sell it at my cost plus shipping if we have 5 or more takers, it will be done whenever i have something else being cut so so i don't have to make a special trip, and it will be 2 -3 weeks to have them ready.
PM me if you are interested and i will start a list.
HHammerly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 05:50 PM   #1662
mkturbo.com
iTrader: (24)
 
shuiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 13,780
Total Cats: 1,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonC SBB View Post
Really? I can't find it on FM's page without the coils. With the coils they're $700+.
I called and talked to Brandon and ordered the parts over the phone.


Quote:
Originally Posted by codrus View Post
FM's LSx coil kit doesn't fit with the EGR pipe. Unclear if it fits with a coolant reroute or not.

--Ian
I have a begi spacer, kia water neck, and GM coolant hose and it fits with my FM bracket. It is a tight fit with the coolant temp sensor, but doable. I do not have EGR so I have no clue on that one
shuiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 01:23 AM   #1663
Elite Member
 
codrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 3,878
Total Cats: 344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by triple88a View Post
Hmm how does it get in the way of the EGR?
I don't know, but that's what it says on FM's web site.

--Ian
codrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 12:19 PM   #1664
Destroyer of Inconel
iTrader: (37)
 
EO2K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: In ur driveway, abusin' ur WPA
Posts: 9,642
Total Cats: 954
Default

BEGI says the EGR tube won't fit with their reroute. They even offer a service to modify your EGR tube to fit.
EO2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 08:28 PM   #1665
Elite Member
 
codrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 3,878
Total Cats: 344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EO2K View Post
BEGI says the EGR tube won't fit with their reroute. They even offer a service to modify your EGR tube to fit.
The stock 99 EGR pipe fits with an M-tuned reroute, I've done it. It's tight, though.

Given that the EGR pipe is below the reroute, if the FM LSx coils don't fit with EGR, I'm not sure how they'd fit with the reroute. I guess it's possible that the EGR/coil interference is over on the side where the EGR mates with the intake manifold.

--Ian
codrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 11:36 PM   #1666
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 774
Total Cats: -5
Default

I built my COP set up using Toyota coils. It worked well but one day while loading an MSQ into my LS1 two of the coils took a dump.

I replaced the 2 bad coils but the tach did not work after that.

I now have an MS3. Is the MS3 different in how the tach signal is obtained ?

How can I test the coils individually to determine the damaged ones so I don't have to buy all new ones again ?

Thanks
poobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 08:36 PM   #1667
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 774
Total Cats: -5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
i guess you could do that too. if one is bad, the ig- wire will be grounded (when it shouldnt be)
Believe it or not I am now getting to this.

Expect mo questions possibly stupid ones..
poobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 09:48 PM   #1668
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 774
Total Cats: -5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
i guess you could do that too. if one is bad, the ig- wire will be grounded (when it shouldnt be)
I have continuity between the first terminal (ground) and the 3rd terminal from the left on one of the coils.

I built these using small female connectors to mate with the coil terminals.

One of these was actually broken - the metal must have bent on insertion and then fractured. I don't think that was the tach issue but definitile a failure point.

Now I need another new coil and re engineer my terminal connections
poobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 05:46 AM   #1669
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1,272
Total Cats: 32
Default

Just a data point - my car ran (genuine used Toyota) COPs fine with the stock 99 ECU for about 500km of street use then developed an occasional miss. I've now switched to an Adaptronic and I am running the correct dwell but the miss persists. I haven't yet swapped out the coils but I suspect they are the issue.

All the crimps on the COP loom look secure.
timk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 11:15 AM   #1670
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 774
Total Cats: -5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timk View Post
Just a data point - my car ran (genuine used Toyota) COPs fine with the stock 99 ECU for about 500km of street use then developed an occasional miss. I've now switched to an Adaptronic and I am running the correct dwell but the miss persists. I haven't yet swapped out the coils but I suspect they are the issue.

All the crimps on the COP loom look secure.
Seems like those coils can be "partially" wonked like mine. One works but tach signal is shorted to ground

I might just stick with stock ignition since I don't run much boost...
poobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 02:48 PM   #1671
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 107
Total Cats: 3
Default

So 350z coils work like a charm, just did my initial wiring and it runs awesome

heres a pic for fun

I need to take them off, and clean it up now :/
Attached Thumbnails
COP Thread-1392629_10151939664900409_1348989532_n.jpg  
duhafnusa4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 02:49 PM   #1672
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,093
Total Cats: 90
Default

They look a bit long.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 02:51 PM   #1673
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 107
Total Cats: 3
Default

they are a tad, ill make a tie down piece
duhafnusa4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 03:10 PM   #1674
Boost Czar
Thread Starter
iTrader: (61)
 
Braineack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 72,895
Total Cats: 1,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leafy View Post
It looks a bit long.
something your GF never said.
Braineack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 03:16 PM   #1675
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 107
Total Cats: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braineack View Post
something your GF never said.
Im glad you changed they to it...because that would be weird
duhafnusa4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 04:21 PM   #1676
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 774
Total Cats: -5
Thumbs up

The hood holds them in place as it closes
poobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 04:40 PM   #1677
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 107
Total Cats: 3
Default

Im not one to complain about free coils, thanks to my local scrapyard, who saw no value in these, or any other small automotive components
duhafnusa4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 07:39 PM   #1678
Senior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 774
Total Cats: -5
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by duhafnusa4 View Post
Im not one to complain about free coils, thanks to my local scrapyard, who saw no value in these, or any other small automotive components
Coils and teeth have no value to them LOL

My Fleabay coil just came in

Last edited by poobs; 10-25-2013 at 07:40 PM. Reason: forgot
poobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 07:54 PM   #1679
Junior Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 107
Total Cats: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poobs View Post
Coils and teeth have no value to them LOL

My Fleabay coil just came in
lol yea and other random bones found...
duhafnusa4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 10:33 AM   #1680
Junior Member
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lake City, Florida
Posts: 150
Total Cats: -16
Default

I guess this is a stupid question but I'm installing an aftermarket tach in my 94 miata with the toyota coils already installed. Do I just tap into the tach wire (black/white) in the original harness?
pitbull113 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
Going back to stock. Need some 1.6 parts. Trent WTB 2 10-01-2015 01:15 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM
01-05 Fab9 PNP COPs (used) FrankB Miata parts for sale/trade 6 09-30-2015 12:48 PM


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:20 PM.