Hustler's build thread 2.0, the natural aspiration connection - Page 30 - Miata Turbo Forum - Boost cars, acquire cats.

Welcome to Miataturbo.net   Members
 


Build Threads Building a motor? Post the progress here.

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-26-2012, 07:23 PM   #581
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shuiend View Post
Why not just reduce spark angle instead of a restrictor plate?
Valve burn.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 07:25 PM   #582
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,185
Total Cats: 2,582
Default

should net a gain but I highly doubt it will be as much as you think.
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 07:29 PM   #583
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18psi View Post
should net a gain but I highly doubt it will be as much as you think.
I expect 5-10hp. I saw a huge change in Chris Kearns' car. Remember that I have EV1 580CC injectors now which atomize for **** and make the car barely idle. I have to err for fatness on the AFR so sometimes the car reads as fat as 11.3:1, sometimes 13.1 due to shitty spray and fuel on the walls combine with a lack of TPS enrichment.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 07:32 PM   #584
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,185
Total Cats: 2,582
Default

sounds about right. but why the failstrictor? does another 5-10 disqualify you from your class?
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 07:36 PM   #585
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

161whp is the absolute limit of what I can make on a Dynojet and stay in that class, I did 157whp with the Barrett Jackson tune using the conversion from the Mustang Dyno, which is what I intend to do because I have to come up with ~$1500 for 9" 6ULs and Hoosiers. 162whp means I go to TTC. However, I can run my current set-up and a max of 179hp in TTC.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 08:11 PM   #586
Ben
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (33)
 
Ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: atlanta-ish
Posts: 12,689
Total Cats: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hustler View Post
It will make more power now so I'm looking into getting a restrictor plate made because I assume it will make significantly more than the 157whp it dyno's previously.
Bad idea. Use your VVT control to bring down the top end power, if needed, when needed. Run the full power VVT tune other times.
Ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 08:59 PM   #587
Senior Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 672
Total Cats: 20
Default

could you possibly use a hidden external switch for table switching? Make more/less power on the fly!
karter74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 09:02 PM   #588
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,185
Total Cats: 2,582
Default

18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 09:02 PM   #589
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben View Post
Bad idea. Use your VVT control to bring down the top end power, if needed, when needed. Run the full power VVT tune other times.
I have a 99 head on this car, VVT head on my daily.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 09:02 PM   #590
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karter74 View Post
could you possibly use a hidden external switch for table switching? Make more/less power on the fly!
I'd rather lose with dignity than cheat and win.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 09:04 PM   #591
Murderator
iTrader: (76)
 
18psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 36,185
Total Cats: 2,582
Default

throw some NOS on dat hoe
18psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 09:07 PM   #592
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18psi View Post
throw some NOS on dat hoe
We call it "dope" now.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 10:00 PM   #593
Senior Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 672
Total Cats: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hustler View Post
I'd rather lose with dignity than cheat and win.
Until you find out the guys beating you are already doing something similar to gain a "competitive edge"
karter74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 10:42 PM   #594
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Dignity > trophy
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 11:05 PM   #595
Supporting Vendor
iTrader: (3)
 
emilio700's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5,311
Total Cats: 1,335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karter74 View Post
Until you find out the guys beating you are already doing something similar to gain a "competitive edge"
That assumes you are getting beat in the first place
emilio700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 11:13 PM   #596
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
triple88a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 9,131
Total Cats: 598
Default

Different redlines? a 5k redline limited to 161hp and then a 9 or whatever k redline that you'll unlock? Too obvious? :P
triple88a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 12:36 AM   #597
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emilio700 View Post
That assumes you are getting beat in the first place
That would be a nice change. I'm feeling more confident than ever about my driving. Well, "I'm feeling confident about my driving for the first time."
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 02:27 AM
bdooley
This message has been deleted by hustler. Reason: hurp durp
Old 10-27-2012, 02:35 AM
bdooley
This message has been deleted by hustler. Reason: Too annoying for my awesome thread.
Old 10-27-2012, 12:44 PM   #598
Tour de Franzia
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
hustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Republic of Dallas
Posts: 29,114
Total Cats: 351
Default

I am clearly an electrical engineer:
Is there any reason not to take every accessory ground wire, ECU ground wire, coils, injectors, CKP, CMP, and LC-1 ground wires and solder them to one big ring connector attached to the EGR-port-bolt on the back of the intake plenum? This will be my 3rd rewire on this car. I want one, badass, clean harness for this car because after ~20-years, the factory harness has turned to ****. The insuraltion turns to powder when you touch it and the copper wire is black throughout.

Last edited by hustler; 10-27-2012 at 12:58 PM.
hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 12:54 PM   #599
Elite Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,782
Total Cats: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hustler View Post
I am clearly an electrical engineer:
Is there any reason not to take every accessory ground wire, ECU ground wire, and LC-1 ground wires and solder them to one big ring connector attached to the EGR-port-bolt on the back of the intake plenum? This will be my 3rd rewire on this car.
Contaminated grounds from power?

Separate ground for timing/sensors for less noise on signal?

In for answer.
Faeflora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 01:09 PM   #600
Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Leafy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 9,091
Total Cats: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hustler View Post
I am clearly an electrical engineer:
Is there any reason not to take every accessory ground wire, ECU ground wire, coils, injectors, CKP, CMP, and LC-1 ground wires and solder them to one big ring connector attached to the EGR-port-bolt on the back of the intake plenum? This will be my 3rd rewire on this car. I want one, badass, clean harness for this car because after ~20-years, the factory harness has turned to ****. The insuraltion turns to powder when you touch it and the copper wire is black throughout.
1, what fae said.

B. Good luck making that monster glob solder joint and having it stay together

iii: It would be better electrically than putting each wire on its own ring terminal and putting them all on 1 stud.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project Gemini - Turbo Civic on the Cheap Full_Tilt_Boogie Build Threads 58 Yesterday 10:04 PM
OTS Bilstein to motorsports ASN conversion stoves Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 5 04-21-2016 04:00 PM
WTB MP62 (Hotside) (NB2) Rick02R WTB 3 01-03-2016 08:18 PM
Leaky Wilwoods mx592 Suspension, Brakes, Drivetrain 1 10-01-2015 01:45 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:33 AM.